Came secure in a battery case I use now, shipping was fast.
Ships from Stockbridge, GA · Most in-stock orders ship within 1 business day · Call 1-800-547-3050
Wholesale and bulk pricingMost in-stock orders ship within 1 business dayCall 1-800-547-3050Wholesale and bulk pricing
Call or text a person
Call 1-800-547-3050Text 1-833-419-2192support@18650batterystore.comMonday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern
Learn
Learn: overviewA 21700 lithium-ion cell: 5,000 mAh typical and 4,850 mAh minimum capacity, a 60 A continuous discharge current (80 °C cut-off) and a 25 A maximum charge current (70 °C cut-off) [1]. Below: every rating with its condition, Molicel’s own curves traced from the data sheet, and what we calculated from them, so you can check each number.
A bare cell: a component for protected packs and devices built for it. Not for vaping. Charge on a lithium-ion (Li-ion) charger that stops at 4.2 V.
01SPEC PLATE
The ratings come from one document, Molicel’s one-page data sheet [1], linked above; we hold no separate cell specification for this model. [1] prints each current’s condition in its row label, such as “(80oC cut-off)” on the 60 A continuous discharge current (the o is a raised degree sign), but no test conditions for its capacity figures or its four charts. Then come figures we traced from those charts, our arithmetic, and facts from the safety data sheet (SDS) [2] and the UN38.3 transport test report [3]. Each row names its source or shows its formula.
| SPECIFICATION | VALUE | CONDITION · SOURCE |
|---|---|---|
| RATED · MANUFACTURER copied from data sheet [1] | ||
| MODEL CODE | INR-21700-P50B | as printed [1][3]; “INR21700-P50B” in [2] Table 6 |
| CAPACITY, TYPICAL | 5,000 mAh | 18.0 Wh [1]; no test rate, temperature, charge method or cut-off printed |
| CAPACITY, MINIMUM | 4,850 mAh | 17.5 Wh [1]; no test condition printed |
| NOMINAL VOLTAGE | 3.6 V | “Cell Voltage”, Nominal [1] |
| CHARGE VOLTAGE | 4.2 V | “Cell Voltage”, Charge [1]; no tolerance and no charge method printed |
| DISCHARGE VOLTAGE | 2.5 V | “Cell Voltage”, Discharge [1] |
| STANDARD CHARGE | 5.0 A | “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)”, Standard [1]; cell or ambient temperature not stated |
| MAXIMUM CHARGE | 25 A | “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)”, Maximum [1] |
| CHARGE TIME, STANDARD | 1.5 hr | “Charge Time”, Standard [1]; no charge method or end-of-charge current printed |
| CONTINUOUS DISCHARGE | 60 A | “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A” [1]; cell or ambient temperature not stated; no pulse rating printed |
| CHARGE TEMPERATURE | −20 to 60 °C | “Ambient Temperature”, Charge, printed “-20℃ to 60℃” [1] |
| DISCHARGE TEMPERATURE | −40 to 60 °C | “Ambient Temperature”, Discharge, printed “-40℃ to 60℃” [1] |
| AC IMPEDANCE, TYPICAL | 6.5 mΩ | “AC (30%SOC)” [1]; frequency not printed |
| DC IMPEDANCE, TYPICAL | 12.8 mΩ | “DC (50%SOC)” [1]; pulse current and duration not printed |
| ENERGY DENSITY | 714 · 260 | Wh/l · Wh/kg, Volumetric and Gravimetric [1]; basis not printed |
| DIAMETER | 21.55 mm | “(Max)” [1] |
| HEIGHT | 70.15 mm | “(Max)” [1] |
| MASS | 71 g | “Weight”, “(Max)” [1]; no typical printed |
| SHAPE · CAN | Cylindrical · Steel | [1] |
| TERMINAL · PROTECTION | Flat top · none | as sold: bare cell, no protection circuit; terminal style not printed in [1] |
| NOTES AND DRAWING · DATA SHEET as printed beside the tables [1] | ||
| VAPE NOTE | Not for vapes | “This product is not designed or produced for use in any vape or e-cigarette devices.” [1] |
| WRAP, AS DRAWN | P50B · 4.85Ah | the cell drawing prints “INR-21700-P50B 3.6V/4.85Ah” and “NOT FOR E-CIG OR VAPE” [1] |
| DISCLAIMER | Reference only | “The information contained herein is for reference only and does not imply a performance guarantee or a product warranty.” [1] |
| + Source: [1] Molicel, Product Data Sheet, Model INR-21700-P50B, Version 1.1 (as printed; no date or document number printed); on file 2026-10-19 · Data sheet PDF | ||
| SPECIFICATION | VALUE | CONDITION · SOURCE |
|---|---|---|
| READ FROM DATA-SHEET CHARTS traced from the raster chart images in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh, ±0.01 V, ±0.5 point and ±0.5 min; no test conditions printed | ||
| CAPACITY AT ‘0.2C’ | 4,926 mAh | end of the traced curve, at 2.50 V [1]; [1] doesn’t print what current 1C is |
| CAPACITY AT 20 A | 4,846 mAh | end of the traced curve, at 2.50 V [1] |
| 60 A CURVE, WHERE IT ENDS | 2,144 mAh | at 3.21 V, above 2.5 V; [1] doesn’t say why it stops |
| CAPACITY, −40 °C CURVE | 4,171 mAh | 87 % of the 23 °C curve; discharge current not printed [1] |
| 5 A CHARGE, END OF TRACE | 75 min | the 25 A trace ends after 24 min; charge method and end-of-charge current not printed [1] |
| CYCLE 500, ‘+1C/-1C’ | 90 % | % basis, temperature and voltage limits not printed [1] |
| CYCLE 500, ‘+1C/-200W’ | 74 % | same chart [1] |
| CALCULATED arithmetic on [1], shown so you can check it | ||
| 1C, OUR BASIS | 5.0 A | 5,000 mAh typical [1] ÷ 1 h; [1] doesn’t say what capacity its C-rates refer to |
| CONTINUOUS DISCHARGE AS C-RATE | 12C | 60 A continuous (80 °C cut-off) [1] ÷ 5.0 A; 12.4C against the 4,850 mAh minimum |
| MAXIMUM CHARGE AS C-RATE | 5C | 25 A maximum (70 °C cut-off) [1] ÷ 5.0 A; the 5.0 A standard charge (70 °C cut-off) is 1C |
| ENERGY, 60 A CURVE | 7.16 Wh | ∫V dQ along the 60 A curve to where it ends, 2,144 mAh [1] |
| AVERAGE POWER, 60 A CURVE | 200 W | 60 A × 3.34 V, the average of that curve [1] |
| VOLUME, MAXIMUM ENVELOPE | 25.6 cm³ | π × (21.55 ÷ 2)² × 70.15 mm³ [1] |
| FROM THE SAFETY DATA SHEET (SDS) AND UN38.3 TRANSPORT TEST REPORT copied as printed from [2] and [3] | ||
| CHEMISTRY | Li-ion | [1] prints “LITHIUM-ION RECHARGEABLE BATTERY”; the SDS cathode table covers all the cells it lists, not this model alone [2] |
| CAPACITY · SDS | 4.85 Ah | “Typical Capacity (Ah)”, as printed in Table 6 [2]: the same figure as [1]’s minimum, not its 5,000 mAh typical |
| ENERGY · SDS | 17.46 Wh | “Watt Hour Rating (Wh) (Volts x Ah)”: 3.60 V × 4.85 Ah [2] |
| LITHIUM CONTENT | 1.46 g | “Equivalent Lithium Content (g)” [2] |
| MASS · SDS | 70.0 g | “Weight (grams)”, basis not printed [2] |
| HEAT · SDS | 80 °C | “Avoid exposing the cells or batteries to fire or temperatures above 80°C.” [2] §10.1.4; decomposition temperature 90°C, no condition printed [2] §9 |
| TRANSPORT | UN3480 · Class 9 | UN3481 when contained in or packed with equipment [2] §14 |
| UN38.3 RATING | 4.85 Ah · 17.46 Wh | “3.6 Vdc, 4.85 Ah, 17.46 Wh”, as printed [3] |
| MASS · UN38.3 TEST CELLS | 69.711–70.562 g | all masses AnTek printed for cells 01–10 in T1–T4, 69.726–70.562 g before T1 [3]; a 2024 lab sample, not our lot |
| UN38.3 | TW2405283-001 | T1–T6 and T8 “Passed” (T6 impact; crush N/A; T8 at 60 A); T7 N/A; AnTek Certification Inc., issued 2024-06-11 [3] |
| SAFETY DATA SHEET | FSSF00062AL | version field prints AK; issued 10-January-2025; lists INR21700-P50B in Table 6 [2] |
| + Source: [1] Molicel, Product Data Sheet, Model INR-21700-P50B, Version 1.1 (as printed; no date or document number printed); on file 2026-10-19 · Data sheet PDF + Source: [2] Molicel (E-One Moli Energy Corp. (Taiwan)), Safety Data Sheet FSSF00062AL, Molicel Rechargeable Lithium-ion cells, product codes INR18650* and INR21700*; version field prints AK, the revision list’s latest entry is AL; issued 10-January-2025; Table 6 lists INR21700-P50B; on file 2026-10-20 · SDS PDF + Source: [3] AnTek Certification Inc. (Taipei), Lithium Ion Battery Safety Testing Report, INR-21700-P50B, report TW2405283-001, issued 2024-06-11, to the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria ST/SG/AC.10/11/Rev.7/Amend.1; applicant and manufacturer printed as Molie Quantum Energy Corporation, Kaohsiung; on file 2026-10-20 · UN38.3 report PDF | ||
Black marks: the three cell voltages [1] prints, “Discharge”, “Nominal” and “Charge”. Orange band: where the middle 80 % of capacity is delivered on the ‘0.2C’ curve, 2.97–4.05 V, traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V.
Currents as printed, each with its condition: “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)” Standard 5.0 A and Maximum 25 A, and “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A” [1]. *C-rates are our arithmetic against 5,000 mAh typical (1C = 5.0 A); [1] doesn’t say what capacity its C-rates refer to, or whether either cut-off is a cell or an ambient temperature. No pulse rating is printed.
Operating ranges as printed, in °C: both are “Ambient Temperature” [1]. The cut-offs belong to the current ratings, “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)” and “(80oC cut-off)”; [1] doesn’t say whether they are cell or ambient temperatures. SDS row: “Avoid exposing the cells or batteries to fire or temperatures above 80°C.” [2] §10.1.4, and a 90°C decomposition temperature with no condition printed, [2] §9. Last two rows: the temperatures of the data sheet’s discharge-temperature chart, shown in section 04 below.
Each document’s capacity figure, as printed, on a 4,700–5,100 mAh scale; the axis doesn’t start at zero. The SDS heads its column “Typical Capacity (Ah)”, but its 4.85 Ah is the same figure as the data sheet’s minimum, not its 5,000 mAh typical. [1] prints no test conditions for either capacity.
Energy figures in Wh on a 17.0–18.5 Wh scale. The SDS and UN38.3 figure is nominal voltage × 4.85 Ah: 3.60 V × 4.85 Ah = 17.46 Wh [2][3]. The data sheet’s 18.0 and 17.5 Wh equal 3.6 V × its 5,000 and 4,850 mAh to one decimal (our arithmetic; [1] prints no formula). Last row: our integration of the ‘0.2C’ curve. Shipping paperwork follows the SDS.
Mass figures in grams on a 68–72 g scale. Bar: the range of all masses AnTek printed for cells 01–10, before and after T1 to T4, in 2024 [3]: a lab sample, not our lot.
The data sheet’s lowest and highest discharge rates, traced from its chart. At ‘0.2C’ the curve runs to 2.5 V and delivers about 4,926 mAh. The 60 A curve, at the current of the continuous rating (80 °C cut-off) [1], stops after about 2,144 mAh, at 3.21 V; [1] doesn’t say why. After 1,000 mAh delivered, the 60 A curve sits 0.60 V below the ‘0.2C’ curve.
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics · ‘0.2C’ and ‘60 A’ as printed · [1] prints no test conditions for this chart: no charge method, temperature or cut-off, and not what current 1C is · data tables under figs 3.1 and 3.3
03BY CURRENT
Eight discharge curves from the data sheet, from ‘0.2C’ to 60 A. The first three figures are the curves; the rest are arithmetic on them, with the formula under each. [1] labels its three lowest rates as C-rates without saying what 1C is, so the sag, power, runtime and heat figures use only the five curves labelled in amps. The 30, 50 and 60 A curves stop above 2.5 V, and [1] doesn’t say why. The data sheet charts no cell temperature.
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics · legend labels ‘0.2C’, ‘0.5C’, ‘1C’ as printed · [1] prints no test conditions for this chart: no charge method, temperature or cut-off, and not what current 1C is
| SERIES, AS PRINTED | V AT 100 mAh | 1,000 | 2,000 | 3,000 | 4,000 | 4,500 | END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ‘0.2C’ | 4.11 | 3.96 | 3.76 | 3.52 | 3.19 | 2.92 | 4,926 | 2.50 |
| ‘0.5C’ | 4.08 | 3.92 | 3.73 | 3.50 | 3.16 | 2.88 | 4,834 | 2.50 |
| ‘1C’ | 4.04 | 3.88 | 3.69 | 3.46 | 3.13 | 2.83 | 4,800 | 2.50 |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics · legend labels ‘10 A’, ‘20 A’, ‘30 A’ as printed · [1] prints no test conditions for this chart: no charge method, temperature or cut-off, and not what current 1C is · the 30 A curve stops at 2.67 V; [1] doesn’t say why
| SERIES, AS PRINTED | V AT 100 mAh | 1,000 | 2,000 | 3,000 | 4,000 | 4,500 | END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ‘10 A’ | 3.98 | 3.81 | 3.62 | 3.41 | 3.09 | 2.80 | 4,815 | 2.50 |
| ‘20 A’ | 3.85 | 3.70 | 3.52 | 3.33 | 3.03 | 2.76 | 4,846 | 2.50 |
| ‘30 A’ | 3.74 | 3.60 | 3.44 | 3.26 | 2.95 | 2.70 | 4,547 | 2.67 |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics · legend labels ‘30 A’, ‘50 A’, ‘60 A’ as printed · [1] prints no test conditions for this chart: no charge method, temperature or cut-off, and not what current 1C is · the 30, 50 and 60 A curves stop above 2.5 V; [1] doesn’t say why · ‘50 A’ is a curve label in [1], not a rating · 60 A is the current of “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A” [1]
| SERIES, AS PRINTED | V AT 100 mAh | 1,000 | 2,000 | 3,000 | 4,000 | 4,500 | END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ‘30 A’ | 3.74 | 3.60 | 3.44 | 3.26 | 2.95 | 2.70 | 4,547 | 2.67 |
| ‘50 A’ | 3.55 | 3.44 | 3.31 | curve ended | curve ended | curve ended | 2,544 | 3.22 |
| ‘60 A’ | 3.45 | 3.35 | 3.23 | curve ended | curve ended | curve ended | 2,144 | 3.21 |
Capacity at the end of each curve in [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics, traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V. The ‘0.2C’ to 20 A curves end at about 2.50 V. The 30, 50 and 60 A curves stop above 2.5 V, at 2.67, 3.22 and 3.21 V; [1] doesn’t say why, so their bars show what each curve delivers, not capacity to 2.5 V. The 20 A curve ends slightly past the 1C and 10 A curves, as printed. For comparison: 5,000 mAh typical and 4,850 mAh minimum [1], with no test condition printed.
| CURRENT, AS PRINTED | CURVE END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|
| ‘0.2C’ | 4,926 | 2.50 |
| ‘0.5C’ | 4,834 | 2.50 |
| ‘1C’ | 4,800 | 2.50 |
| ‘10 A’ | 4,815 | 2.50 |
| ‘20 A’ | 4,846 | 2.50 |
| ‘30 A’ | 4,547 | 2.67 |
| ‘50 A’ | 2,544 | 3.22 |
| ‘60 A’ | 2,144 | 3.21 |
Energy = the area under each voltage–capacity curve (∫V dQ), traced from [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics, to the end of each curve; the 30, 50 and 60 A curves end above 2.5 V. Data-sheet figures for comparison: 18.0 Wh typical, 17.5 Wh minimum [1].
| CURRENT, AS PRINTED | ENERGY Wh | AVERAGE V | CURVE END mAh |
|---|---|---|---|
| ‘0.2C’ | 17.63 | 3.58 | 4,926 |
| ‘0.5C’ | 17.23 | 3.56 | 4,834 |
| ‘1C’ | 16.94 | 3.53 | 4,800 |
| ‘10 A’ | 16.71 | 3.47 | 4,815 |
| ‘20 A’ | 16.37 | 3.38 | 4,846 |
| ‘30 A’ | 15.21 | 3.35 | 4,547 |
| ‘50 A’ | 8.64 | 3.40 | 2,544 |
| ‘60 A’ | 7.16 | 3.34 | 2,144 |
Cell voltage after the same capacity delivered, read from each traced curve in [1]. At 1,000 mAh the 60 A curve sits 0.45 V below the 10 A curve: 0.45 V ÷ 50 A ≈ 9.1 mΩ (7.7–10.1 mΩ across the three depths). Effective resistance = (V at 10 A − V at 60 A) ÷ (60 − 10) A at the same capacity delivered; arithmetic, not a rating. [1] prints a typical DC impedance of 12.8 mΩ, “DC (50%SOC)”, with no pulse current or duration; self-heating during a long discharge is one possible reason for any difference. The lines join the five currents [1] charts; nothing between them is printed. The ‘0.2C’ to ‘1C’ curves are left out: [1] doesn’t print their currents in amps.
| DEPTH | 10 A | 20 A | 30 A | 50 A | 60 A | mΩ, 10 → 60 A |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 500 mAh | 3.90 | 3.78 | 3.67 | 3.49 | 3.40 | 10.1 |
| 1,000 mAh | 3.81 | 3.70 | 3.60 | 3.44 | 3.35 | 9.1 |
| 2,000 mAh | 3.62 | 3.52 | 3.44 | 3.31 | 3.23 | 7.7 |
Power = current × the average voltage of each traced curve in [1], over the whole curve; the start of a discharge runs higher, the end lower. The 30, 50 and 60 A curves end above 2.5 V, so their averages leave out the low-voltage end of a full discharge; that is why 50 A averages more volts than 30 A. Orange: 60 A, the current of “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A” [1]. Only the curves [1] labels in amps.
Runtime = capacity delivered ÷ current, from the traced curves in [1], to the end of each curve. Orange: 60 A, the current of the continuous rating (80 °C cut-off) [1]; its curve stops after 2.1 min. [1] prints no charge method or temperature for these curves. A device whose average draw is below its peak current runs longer than the figure at that peak.
Two estimates of heat generated inside one cell, averaged over each curve. Orange: current × the average voltage gap to the ‘0.2C’ curve, read from [1]. Gray: current² × the 12.8 mΩ typical DC impedance, “DC (50%SOC)” [1]. [1] charts no cell temperature; its 60 A continuous rating carries an 80 °C cut-off. In a pack, neighboring cells add their heat: plan cooling, and derate.
Each point is one traced curve from [1] Discharge Rate Characteristics: energy delivered against average power, both to the end of the curve, power on a log scale. The line joins the five points; nothing between them is printed. Orange point: 60 A (80 °C cut-off) [1]. The ‘0.2C’ to ‘1C’ curves are left out: [1] doesn’t print their currents.
| CURRENT | AVERAGE W | ENERGY Wh | RUNTIME | CURVE ENDS |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 A | 34.7 | 16.71 | 29 min | 2.50 V |
| 20 A | 67.6 | 16.37 | 15 min | 2.50 V |
| 30 A | 100.4 | 15.21 | 9.1 min | 2.67 V |
| 50 A | 169.9 | 8.64 | 3.1 min | 3.22 V |
| 60 A | 200.4 | 7.16 | 2.1 min | 3.21 V |
04BY TEMPERATURE
Six test temperatures from −40 to 60 °C, traced from the data sheet. [1] prints no charge method, discharge current or cut-off for this chart, and doesn’t say whether these are ambient or cell temperatures. Its legend also lists −10, −20 and −30 °C, but it draws no curve for them.
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Temperature Characteristics · [1] prints no charge method, discharge current or cut-off for this chart, and doesn’t say whether these are ambient or cell temperatures
| TEMPERATURE | V AT 100 mAh | 1,000 | 2,000 | 3,000 | 4,000 | 4,500 | END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 °C | 4.04 | 3.88 | 3.68 | 3.46 | 3.13 | 2.84 | 4,817 | 2.50 |
| 45 °C | 4.07 | 3.91 | 3.72 | 3.48 | 3.16 | 2.91 | 4,961 | 2.50 |
| 60 °C | 4.07 | 3.92 | 3.73 | 3.49 | 3.17 | 2.92 | 4,978 | 2.50 |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Temperature Characteristics · [1] prints no charge method, discharge current or cut-off for this chart, and doesn’t say whether these are ambient or cell temperatures
| TEMPERATURE | V AT 100 mAh | 1,000 | 2,000 | 3,000 | 4,000 | 4,500 | END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 °C | 3.94 | 3.80 | 3.60 | 3.38 | 3.03 | 2.57 | 4,523 | 2.50 |
| 10 °C | 4.01 | 3.84 | 3.65 | 3.43 | 3.09 | 2.76 | 4,647 | 2.50 |
| 23 °C | 4.04 | 3.88 | 3.68 | 3.46 | 3.13 | 2.84 | 4,817 | 2.50 |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V · [1] Discharge Temperature Characteristics · [1] prints no charge method, discharge current or cut-off for this chart, and doesn’t say whether these are ambient or cell temperatures · the −40 °C curve falls to about 2.63 V in its first 50 mAh, then recovers to about 3.49 V near 613 mAh, as printed · drawn in the color of the legend’s “-40℃” entry
| TEMPERATURE | V AT 100 mAh | 1,000 | 2,000 | 3,000 | 4,000 | 4,500 | END mAh | END V |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 °C | 4.04 | 3.88 | 3.68 | 3.46 | 3.13 | 2.84 | 4,817 | 2.50 |
| −40 °C | 2.79 | 3.46 | 3.27 | 3.04 | 2.70 | curve ended | 4,171 | 2.50 |
Capacity at the end of each temperature curve in [1], traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±20 mAh and ±0.01 V; all six end at about 2.50 V. [1] prints no charge method, discharge current or cut-off for this chart, and doesn’t say whether these are ambient or cell temperatures. The legend also lists “-10℃”, “-20℃” and “-30℃”, but [1] draws no curve for them: their colors appear only as short near-vertical marks at about 0 mAh, so they are left out. The low curve is drawn in the color of the legend’s “-40℃” entry.
| TEMPERATURE | CURVE END mAh | % OF 23 °C | END V |
|---|---|---|---|
| 60 °C | 4,978 | 103 | 2.50 |
| 45 °C | 4,961 | 103 | 2.50 |
| 23 °C | 4,817 | 100 | 2.50 |
| 10 °C | 4,647 | 96 | 2.50 |
| 0 °C | 4,523 | 94 | 2.50 |
| −40 °C | 4,171 | 87 | 2.50 |
Average voltage = energy ÷ capacity for each traced temperature curve in [1]. The line joins the six curves; [1] draws none between −40 and 0 °C, so nothing between those two points is printed. Lower voltage means less power at a given current, and more heat.
| TEMPERATURE | CAPACITY mAh | % OF 23 °C | ENERGY Wh | AVERAGE V |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 60 °C | 4,978 | 103 | 17.53 | 3.52 |
| 45 °C | 4,961 | 103 | 17.39 | 3.50 |
| 23 °C | 4,817 | 100 | 16.87 | 3.50 |
| 10 °C | 4,647 | 96 | 16.31 | 3.51 |
| 0 °C | 4,523 | 94 | 15.74 | 3.48 |
| −40 °C | 4,171 | 87 | 13.21 | 3.17 |
05CHARGING
The data sheet charts a 5 A and a 25 A charge [1]. Its ratings are 5.0 A standard and 25 A maximum, both printed as “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)”, with a 1.5 hr standard charge time. [1] prints no charge method, end-of-charge current or temperature for this chart. Figs 5.1 to 5.3 are its traces; figs 5.4 and 5.5 add up the charge each test put in.
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±0.5 min, ±0.03 V, ±0.2 A and ±1 point · [1] Charge Characteristics · legend ‘5A’ and ‘25A’ as printed · [1] prints no charge method, end-of-charge current or temperature for this chart
| CHARGE | 0 min | 5 min | 10 min | 20 min | 30 min | 45 min | 60 min | 70 min |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 A | 2.87 V | 3.33 V | 3.51 V | 3.68 V | 3.84 V | 4.10 V | 4.20 V | 4.20 V |
| 25 A | 2.87 V | 3.91 V | 4.20 V | 4.20 V | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±0.5 min, ±0.03 V, ±0.2 A and ±1 point · [1] Charge Characteristics · legend ‘5A’ and ‘25A’ as printed · [1] prints no charge method, end-of-charge current or temperature for this chart · the 5 A current starts to taper at about 48 min, about 3 min before its voltage trace reaches 4.2 V
| CHARGE | 0 min | 5 min | 10 min | 20 min | 30 min | 45 min | 60 min | 70 min |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 A | 5.0 A | 5.0 A | 5.0 A | 5.0 A | 5.0 A | 5.0 A | 1.4 A | 0.2 A |
| 25 A | 25.0 A | 25.0 A | 14.3 A | 0.4 A | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±0.5 min, ±0.03 V, ±0.2 A and ±1 point · [1] Charge Characteristics · legend ‘5A’ and ‘25A’ as printed · [1] prints no charge method, end-of-charge current or temperature for this chart · each curve is a percent of its own test’s total: about 4,804 mAh at 5 A and about 4,846 mAh at 25 A (fig 5.4)
| CHARGE | 0 min | 5 min | 10 min | 20 min | 30 min | 45 min | 60 min | 70 min |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 A | 0 % | 9 % | 17 % | 35 % | 52 % | 78 % | 98 % | 100 % |
| 25 A | 0 % | 43 % | 83 % | 100 % | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended |
Charge put in = current × time, summed along each current trace traced from [1] (current read to about ±0.2 A). The 5 A test puts in about 4,804 mAh in all and the 25 A test about 4,846 mAh. While the current holds, each percent curve implies a similar total (current × time ÷ percent: about 4,821 and 4,869 mAh). Dotted line: 5,000 mAh typical [1].
| CHARGE | 5 min | 10 min | 15 min | 20 min | 30 min | 45 min | 60 min | TOTAL mAh | FROM THE % CURVE |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 A | 416 | 832 | 1,248 | 1,663 | 2,495 | 3,742 | 4,691 | 4,804 | ≈4,821 |
| 25 A | 2,084 | 4,034 | 4,710 | 4,831 | trace ended | trace ended | trace ended | 4,846 | ≈4,869 |
Minutes to put in each amount, from the current traces in [1] (current × time). While the current holds: about 48 min and 4,028 mAh at 5 A; about 8.6 min and 3,565 mAh at 25 A. [1] prints a 1.5 hr standard charge time with no method; its 5 A trace ends after about 75 min and its 25 A trace after about 24 min.
| CHARGE | 1,000 mAh | 2,000 mAh | 3,000 mAh | 4,000 mAh | CURRENT HOLDS UNTIL | PUT IN BY THEN | TRACE ENDS | TOTAL PUT IN |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 A | 12.0 min | 24.0 min | 36.1 min | 48.1 min | 48.4 min | 4,028 mAh | 75 min | 4,804 mAh |
| 25 A | 2.4 min | 4.8 min | 7.2 min | 9.9 min | 8.6 min | 3,565 mAh | 24 min | 4,846 mAh |
06CYCLE LIFE AND STORAGE
Six test programs from the data sheet’s cycle chart, legend labels as printed [1]. [1] prints no cycle-life rating, and no temperature, voltage limits or end-of-life criterion for the chart. Storage advice comes from the SDS [2].
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±0.5 point · [1] Cycle Characteristics, legend labels as printed · [1] prints no temperature, voltage limits, capacity basis for C or end-of-life criterion for this chart, and doesn’t say what 100 % is; cycle 1 reads 100 % · axis starts at 70 %. The ‘+1C/-1C’ curve dips to about 96.2 % at cycle 94 and recovers, as printed. [1] doesn’t explain the notation; in common use + marks charge and − discharge, so ‘+5C/-1C’ would be a 5C charge with a 1C discharge. On a 5.0 A basis (5,000 mAh typical ÷ 1 h, our arithmetic) 1C, 3C and 5C are 5, 15 and 25 A; [1] doesn’t say what 1C is.
| PROGRAM, AS PRINTED | 100 | 200 | 300 | 400 | 500 CYCLES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ‘+1C/-1C’ | 97.8 % | 95.7 % | 93.7 % | 91.9 % | 90.2 % |
| ‘+3C/-1C’ | 97.6 % | 95.1 % | 92.8 % | 90.8 % | 89.0 % |
| ‘+5C/-1C’ | 97.0 % | 94.0 % | 91.2 % | 88.6 % | 86.3 % |
Data: traced from the raster chart image in [1], reading error about ±0.5 point · [1] Cycle Characteristics, legend labels as printed · [1] prints no temperature, voltage limits, capacity basis for C or end-of-life criterion for this chart, and doesn’t say what 100 % is; cycle 1 reads 100 % · axis starts at 70 %. Read the same way, ‘-200W’ would be a 200 W discharge: at the 3.6 V nominal voltage [1] that is about 56 A (200 ÷ 3.6, our arithmetic), and the current rises as the voltage falls. The ‘+1C/-200W’ curve peaks at about 100.9 % in its first cycles and shows small upward steps later in the test, as printed.
| PROGRAM, AS PRINTED | 100 | 200 | 300 | 400 | 500 CYCLES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ‘+1C/-100W’ | 95.4 % | 91.6 % | 88.5 % | 85.9 % | 83.7 % |
| ‘+1C/-150W’ | 95.1 % | 90.5 % | 86.4 % | 82.9 % | 80.1 % |
| ‘+1C/-200W’ | 95.4 % | 89.2 % | 83.1 % | 78.4 % | 74.4 % |
Capacity at cycle 500, read from the chart in [1] (about ±0.5 point), for each of its six programs, legend labels as printed. [1] prints no cycle-life rating and doesn’t say what 100 % is or at what temperature the cells were cycled. A chart reading, not a warranty.
07TRANSPORT TESTS
AnTek Certification’s 2024 UN38.3 report [3] records “Passed” for T1–T6 and T8 on the INR-21700-P50B; T7, overcharge, and T6’s crush test are N/A. Its conclusion reads “The sample has passed the test items of UN 38.3”. AnTek is a test lab, separate from Molicel. The report names the applicant as “Molie Quantum Energy Corporation, No.16, Changchun St., Xiaogang Dist., Kaohsiung City, 812 Taiwan R.O.C.” and the manufacturer as “Molie Quantum Energy Corporation, No.16, Changchun St., Xiaogang Dist., Kaohsiung City, Taiwan”; the data sheet [1] and SDS [2] name E-One Moli Energy. Its tables also print what each cell did: a 2024 lab sample, not our lot.
Highest external temperature each cell reached, as printed in [3]: one tick per cell, the bar spans the lowest to the highest. T5: case heated to 57 ± 4 °C, then shorted through 89.2–97.5 mΩ, as printed. T6: a 9.1 kg mass dropped onto a bar across the cell. T8 forced discharge ran 20 cells at 60 A for 0.09 h, as printed; [3] prints no temperatures for it. Each result is “Passed” in [3], a 2024 lab sample, not our lot.
| TEST | CELLS | MAX °C, EACH CELL | RANGE |
|---|---|---|---|
| T5 external short | 10 | 94.5, 90.1, 97.3, 92.7, 92.3, 87.9, 83.7, 78.7, 89.5, 87.0 | 78.7–97.3 |
| T6 impact | 10 | 21.8, 21.9, 21.5, 21.6, 21.0, 21.0, 21.0, 21.0, 21.0, 21.0 | 21.0–21.9 |
Open-circuit voltage after each test, as a percent of the voltage just before it, printed for each of the 10 cells in [3]: one tick per cell. The cells started at 4.164–4.192 V, fully charged. The scale starts at 85 %.
Mass of the 10 cells AnTek weighed before T1, as printed in [3]: 69.726–70.562 g (mean 70.28 g, our arithmetic), against 71 g (Max) [1] and 70.0 g with no basis printed [2]. Across T1–T4 the printed masses run 69.711–70.562 g; mass loss after each test: 0.00–0.03 % [3]. The axis starts at 69.4 g.
| CELL | STATE | BEFORE T1 g |
|---|---|---|
| 01 | first cycle | 70.258 |
| 02 | first cycle | 70.562 |
| 03 | first cycle | 70.548 |
| 04 | first cycle | 69.726 |
| 05 | first cycle | 70.194 |
| 06 | after 25 cycles | 70.377 |
| 07 | after 25 cycles | 70.220 |
| 08 | after 25 cycles | 70.334 |
| 09 | after 25 cycles | 70.264 |
| 10 | after 25 cycles | 70.312 |
| TEST | PROCEDURE, CONDENSED FROM [3] | PASS CRITERION, AS PRINTED IN [3] | RESULT | CELLS | PAGES |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| T1 Altitude simulation | Stored at 11.6 kPa or less for at least six hours at ambient temperature (20 ± 5 °C) | “Cells and batteries meet this requirement if there is no leakage, no venting, no disassembly, no rupture and no fire and if the open circuit voltage of each test cell or battery after testing is not less than 90% of its voltage immediately prior to this procedure. The requirement relating to voltage is not applicable to test cells and batteries at fully discharged states.” | Passed | 01–10 | pp.6–7 |
| T2 Thermal test | At least six hours at 72 ± 2 °C, then at least six hours at −40 ± 2 °C, at most 30 minutes between extremes; 10 cycles, then 24 hours at 20 ± 5 °C | Same as T1 [3] | Passed | 01–10 | pp.8–9 |
| T3 Vibration | Sinusoidal, logarithmic sweep from 7 to 200 Hz and back in 15 minutes, 12 times (3 hours) in each of three perpendicular mounting positions; 1 gn to 18 Hz, then 0.8 mm amplitude until 8 gn (about 50 Hz), then 8 gn to 200 Hz | “Cells and batteries meet this requirement if there is no leakage, no venting, no disassembly, no rupture and no fire during the test and after the test and if the open circuit voltage of each test cell or battery directly after testing in its third perpendicular mounting position is not less than 90% of its voltage immediately prior to this procedure. The requirement relating to voltage is not applicable to test cells and batteries at fully discharged states.” | Passed | 01–10 | pp.10–11 |
| T4 Shock | Half-sine shock of 150 gn for 6 ms, or 50 gn for 11 ms for large cells; three shocks in each direction of three perpendicular positions, 18 in all. Our note: [3] doesn’t say which of the two options was applied | Same as T1 [3] | Passed | 01–10 | pp.12–13 |
| T5 External short circuit | Case heated to a stable 57 ± 4 °C, then one short circuit through a total external resistance of less than 0.1 ohm, kept up for at least one hour after the case returns to 57 ± 4 °C; resistances printed per cell: 89.2–97.5 mΩ | “Cells and batteries meet this requirement if their external temperature does not exceed 170 °C and there is no disassembly, no rupture and no fire during the test and within six hours after the test.” | Passed | 01–10 | pp.14–15 |
| T6 Impact | A 15.8 mm stainless steel bar across the cell, a 9.1 kg mass dropped onto it from 61 ± 2.5 cm, one impact per cell, at 50 % of the design rated capacity. Crush: N/A in [3], which applies it to cylindrical cells under 18.0 mm diameter, among other types | “Cells and component cells meet this requirement if their external temperature does not exceed 170 °C and there is no disassembly and no fire during the test and within six hours after this test.” | Passed (impact); crush N/A | 11–20 | pp.16–18 |
| T7 Overcharge | Not applied to single cells: N/A in [3] | not applicable | N/A | none | pp.19–20 |
| T8 Forced discharge | Each cell in series with a 12 V DC supply, “at an initial current equal to the maximum discharge current specified by the manufacturer”, for “a time interval (in hours) equal to its rated capacity divided by the initial test current (in ampere)”; printed for each cell: 60 A for 0.09 h, starting fully discharged | “Primary or rechargeable cells meet this requirement if there is no disassembly and no fire during the test and within seven days after the test.” | Passed | 21–40 | pp.21–22 |
Procedures condensed from [3] in our words, with its figures; text in quotation marks is copied as printed, checked against the report. T1 to T5 run on the same 10 cells in sequence, five at first cycle and five after 25 cycles. The T4 remark is our note, not printed. T8 ran at 60 A, the current of the data sheet’s continuous rating (80 °C cut-off) [1].
08COMPARE
Twelve other 21700 cells, each from its own manufacturer document. The conditions behind each figure differ, so the table quotes each document’s wording.
Bars show each printed figure, not like-for-like ratings: the conditions differ, from an 80 °C cut-off to a temperature band or no condition at all, so read the condition beside each bar. The P50B row comes from [1]; the others are copied from their own documents [4]. Bars start at zero: minimum capacity on a 0–7,000 mAh scale, discharge on 0–60 A. Where a document prints two continuous figures, the bar shows the higher and the note gives the other. The 58E’s 10.66 A is our arithmetic, 2C × the 5,330 mA 1C its sheet prints. Pulse and other non-continuous figures are left out.
| CELL | TYPICAL OR NOMINAL mAh | MINIMUM mAh | DISCHARGE AS PRINTED | CHARGE RATING AS PRINTED | MASS g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Molicel P50B INR-21700-P50B |
5,000 typical | 4,850 | “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A” [1] | “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)” Maximum 25 A; Standard 5.0 A [1] | 71 max |
|
Samsung 45T CC4503F101 |
4,500 typical | 4,400 | “Max. continuous discharge (Surface temperature): 35A(Without temperature cut) / 50A(With 80℃ temperature cut)” | “Max. charge current: 9A (for step charge) / 6A (continuous charge)” | 72 max |
|
Molicel P45B INR-21700-P45B |
4,500 typical | 4,350 | “Maximum continuous discharging current: 45A” (no condition printed; remark: “Cycle life is reduced at high rates.”) | “Maximum continuous charging current: 9A” (remark: “High rate charge cycle will decay fast.”) | 70 max |
|
Samsung 40T INR21700-40T |
not printed | 4,000 | “Max. continuous discharge (Surface temperature): 35A(Without temperature cut) / 45A(With 80℃ temperature cut)” | “Rated charge: CCCV, 6A, 4.20 V, 100mA cut-off” (this spec prints no separate max. charge current item) | 70 max |
|
Molicel P42A INR-21700-P42A |
4,200 typical | 4,000 | “Discharge Current, Continuous: 45 A” (no condition printed) | not printed on the Version 1.7 sheet (“Charge Current, Standard: 4.2 A”); Doc # INR21700P42A-01 Rev. 0.2: “Maximum charging current: 8.4A” | 70 max |
|
Samsung 50S INR21700-50S |
5,000 typical | Not stated by manufacturer | “Max. continuous discharge (Surface temperature): 25A(Without temperature cut) / 45A(With 80℃ temperature cut)” | “Max. charge current: 6A (continuous charge)” | 72 max |
| Sony/Murata VTC6A US21700VTC6A |
4,160 nominal | 4,000 | “Continuous Maximum Discharging Current: 40A (With 80deg.C temperature cut)” | “Maximum Charging Current: 6A (Continuous)” | not printed placeholder “xx ±1.5g” |
| Molicel M65A 21700-M65A |
6,500 ± 70 at 0.2C; no typical or nominal label printed | 6,400 | “Discharge current: 25.6A (90℃cut-off)” (the word continuous is not printed; preliminary R&D data) | “Charge current: 6.5A (Standard) / 6.5A (Max)” | 72.5 ± 1.5, as printed |
| Molicel M50A INR-21700-M50A |
5,000 typical | 4,800 | “Discharge Current, Continuous: 15 A” (no condition printed) | not printed on the V3 sheet (“Charge Current, Standard: 2.5 A”); Doc # INR21700M50A-01 Rev. 0.1: “Maximum charging current: 5.0A” | 70 max |
| Samsung 50G INR21700-50G (Ver. B) |
not printed | 4,900 | “Max. Discharge Current (*²): 3C (14,700mA, for continuous discharge @ -20℃~30℃) / 2C (9,800mA, for continuous discharge @ 31℃~60℃)” | “Max. Charge Current: 4,900mA (not for cycle life)” | 71 max |
| LG M50LT INR21700M50LT |
not printed 1C = 4800mA | Not stated by manufacturer | “Max. Discharge Current (complete full charge)²⁾: -20 ~ 10℃ 0.5C (2,400mA) / 10 ~ 25℃ 3.0C(14,400mA) / 25 ~ 55℃ 1.5C(7,200mA)” (the sheet’s note 2 calls these the maximum continuous currents) | “Max. Charge Current (complete full charge)²⁾: 0 ~ 25℃ 0.3C (1,440mA) / 25 ~ 45℃ 0.7C (3,360mA)” | 68.2 ± 1.0, with tube and washer |
|
Samsung 58E CC5493F101 (Ver. A) |
not printed | 5,330 | “Max. Discharge Current (*²): 2C (for continuous discharge)” (non-continuous figure left out; the sheet sets 1C = 5,330 mA, so 10.66 A is our arithmetic) | “Max. Charge Current: 1C (not for cycle life)” (1C = 5,330 mA as printed) | 74 max |
|
Samsung 50E INR21700-50E |
not printed | 4,900 | “Max. Discharge Current: 9,800mA (for continuous discharge)” (non-continuous figure left out) | “Max. Charge Current: 4,900mA (not for cycle life)” | 69.5 max |
Text in quotation marks is copied from each manufacturer document: [1] for the P50B, the newest version in our library for the others [4], checked by a second reading; notes in parentheses are ours. Molicel data sheets print their ratings as table rows; for the other Molicel cells, the row label, column and value are joined here with a comma and a colon. Links go to the bare-cell listing in our store.
09PACK MATH
How the single-cell ratings scale in series (S) and parallel (P). Illustrative arithmetic, not a pack rating.
charge voltage, 4.2 V [1]
nominal voltage, 3.6 V [1]
Ah minimum; 5.0 × P typical [1]
A: the 60 A single-cell continuous rating, 80 °C cut-off [1], times P*
| CONFIG | CELLS | V MAX | V NOMINAL | Ah MINIMUM | Wh MINIMUM | CONTINUOUS A, 80 °C CUT-OFF* | CELL MASS g, MAX |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1S1P | 1 | 4.2 | 3.6 | 4.85 | 17.5 | 60 | 71 |
| 2S1P | 2 | 8.4 | 7.2 | 4.85 | 35.0 | 60 | 142 |
| 3S1P | 3 | 12.6 | 10.8 | 4.85 | 52.5 | 60 | 213 |
| 4S1P | 4 | 16.8 | 14.4 | 4.85 | 70.0 | 60 | 284 |
| 2S2P | 4 | 8.4 | 7.2 | 9.70 | 70.0 | 120 | 284 |
| 3S2P | 6 | 12.6 | 10.8 | 9.70 | 105.0 | 120 | 426 |
| 4S2P | 8 | 16.8 | 14.4 | 9.70 | 140.0 | 120 | 568 |
| 7S3P | 21 | 29.4 | 25.2 | 14.55 | 367.5 | 180 | 1,491 |
| 10S3P | 30 | 42.0 | 36.0 | 14.55 | 525.0 | 180 | 2,130 |
| 10S4P | 40 | 42.0 | 36.0 | 19.40 | 700.0 | 240 | 2,840 |
| 13S4P | 52 | 54.6 | 46.8 | 19.40 | 910.0 | 240 | 3,692 |
| 14S5P | 70 | 58.8 | 50.4 | 24.25 | 1,225.0 | 300 | 4,970 |
60 A × P: the single-cell continuous rating, with its 80 °C cut-off [1], times the parallel count. A ceiling before derating, not a pack rating.
* 60 A × P multiplies the single-cell figure, “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A” [1], by the number of cells in parallel. Wh = 17.5 Wh minimum [1] × S × P. At 60 A per cell, the data sheet’s curve stops after about 2,144 mAh, at 3.21 V (fig 3.3), well short of the 4,850 mAh minimum. [1] prints no pack guidance: derate for heat, size the BMS, fusing and interconnects for the derated current, sense temperature on the hottest cell so the cut-off can act, and use matched cells of one model and lot. Mass counts cells only. The UN38.3 report [3] is AnTek’s report on the bare cell, not on your pack; a pack you build needs its own UN38.3 testing before it ships as UN3480.
10SIZE AND FIT
Drawn at the data sheet’s maximum dimensions beside nominal outlines of two common formats, at one scale. [1] prints maximums only, with no nominal size or tolerance.
All outlines drawn to the same scale. The P50B at its maximum dimensions [1]; the other outlines are nominal format sizes, for scale only.
| DIMENSION | VALUE | CONDITION |
|---|---|---|
| Diameter | 21.55 mm | “(Max)” [1] |
| Height | 70.15 mm | “(Max)” [1] |
| Mass | 71 g | “(Max)” [1]; 70.0 g, basis not printed [2]; 69.726–70.562 g for the 10 cells weighed before T1 in [3] |
| Terminal | Flat top | as sold, bare cell; terminal style not printed in [1] |
| Volume | 25.6 cm³ | π × (21.55 ÷ 2)² × 70.15 mm³, the maximum envelope |
Check that your holder or device takes a flat-top 21700 cell 70.15 mm long (Max) [1]. Spot-weld nickel strip for packs; don’t solder to the cell.
11USE IT RIGHT
What this cell is, and how to use it within its ratings.
Questions? Call 1-800-547-3050 or text 1-833-419-2192 to ask a person.
Each document is linked as posted on our store; versions are listed as printed. We hold no separate cell specification for this model.
Ships from Stockbridge, GA. Most in-stock orders ship within 1 business day.
12QUESTIONS
Short answers. Where an answer comes from a document, it carries its source; the rest is standard handling practice. Anything else: call 1-800-547-3050 or text 1-833-419-2192.
No. It is a bare flat-top cell with no protection circuit. Use it only in packs with a battery management system (BMS) or in devices built for unprotected cells.
Yes, with a condition. The data sheet prints “Discharge Current (80oC cut-off) Continuous 60 A”: a continuous current, on condition that the discharge stops at 80 °C [1]. [1] doesn’t say whether that is the cell’s temperature or the air’s; a sensor on the cell is the cautious choice. It prints no current for use without the cut-off, and no pulse rating. The cell has no protection circuit, so the cut-off has to come from your pack’s BMS, with a sensor on the hottest cell, or from your device. If you can’t confirm a cut-off, don’t plan on 60 A. The data sheet’s 60 A curve also stops after about 2,144 mAh, at 3.21 V (fig 3.3), and [1] doesn’t say why.
The data sheet allows it, with a condition. It prints 25 A as the maximum charge current and 5.0 A as the standard, both under “Charge Current (70oC cut-off)”: the charge has to stop at 70 °C [1]. [1] doesn’t say whether that is the cell’s temperature or the air’s, and prints no charge method or end-of-charge current. Its 25 A trace reaches 4.2 V after about 9 min and ends after about 24 min (figs 5.1 to 5.3). Above 5.0 A, use a charger or BMS that ends charge at 4.2 V and reads cell temperature, and charge within −20 to 60 °C ambient [1]. In [1]’s cycle chart the ‘+5C/-1C’ program keeps about 86 % at cycle 500, against about 90 % for ‘+1C/-1C’ (fig 6.1).
A lithium-ion charger with a CC-CV profile (constant current, then constant voltage) that stops at 4.2 V. Not a NiMH, LiFePO4 or lead-acid charger. [1] prints the 4.2 V charge voltage but not the charge method.
The data sheet prints 5,000 mAh typical and 4,850 mAh minimum, with no test condition [1]. The SDS prints 4.85 Ah in a column headed “Typical Capacity (Ah)”, the same figure as the data sheet’s minimum, and its 17.46 Wh is 3.60 V × 4.85 Ah [2]. The UN38.3 report’s rating is “3.6 Vdc, 4.85 Ah, 17.46 Wh” [3], and the cell drawing in [1] reads “3.6V/4.85Ah”. Shipping paperwork follows the SDS figure (fig 1.4).
Runtime ≈ capacity ÷ current. From the data-sheet curves, to the end of each: about 29 min at 10 A, 15 min at 20 A, 9.1 min at 30 A and 2.1 min at 60 A; the 30 and 60 A curves stop above 2.5 V (fig 3.8) [1]. For your own draw, divide 4,850 mAh, the printed minimum [1], by your current in mA to get hours: at 5 A, 4,850 ÷ 5,000 = 0.97 h, about 58 min. [1] doesn’t print the conditions behind the minimum.
In the data sheet’s temperature chart the cell delivered 94 % of its 23 °C capacity at 0 °C and 87 % at −40 °C [1]. At −40 °C the voltage first falls to about 2.63 V, then recovers (fig 4.3), so a device with a high cut-off may stop early. The chart doesn’t print the discharge current or the charge conditions, or whether those are air or cell temperatures, and it draws no curve for −10, −20 or −30 °C. Voltage also drops in the cold (fig 4.5). Charge within −20 to 60 °C ambient [1].
The data sheet prints no cycle-life rating. Its chart shows six test programs to 500 cycles, from about 90 % at cycle 500 (‘+1C/-1C’) to about 74 % (‘+1C/-200W’), against a 100 % it doesn’t define (figs 6.1 to 6.3) [1]. It prints no temperature, voltage limits or end-of-life criterion for them. Heat, current, depth of discharge and storage all change the result.
No. Molicel’s data sheet says: “This product is not designed or produced for use in any vape or e-cigarette devices.” Its cell drawing also reads “NOT FOR E-CIG OR VAPE” [1]. It is a component for protected packs and devices built for it.
The cell drawing in the data sheet shows “NOT FOR E-CIG OR VAPE” and “INR-21700-P50B 3.6V/4.85Ah” [1]. In the photo in the UN38.3 report, “NOT FOR E-CIG OR VAPE”, “3.6V/4.85Ah” and “17.46Wh” are legible [3] p.23. Compare them with the cells in your hand: a check, not proof.
Don’t solder directly to the cell: the heat can damage the seal and internal parts. Spot-weld nickel strip, or use a holder.
No, not in the same pack. Use cells of the same model and lot, at the same state of charge. In series, the weakest cell reaches 2.5 V first and limits the whole pack, and mismatched cells drift further apart with every cycle.
In a case, away from metal objects. The SDS recommends keeping cells “at room temperature (25°C +/- 5°C)” and says: “Store in a cool, dry, well-ventilated area, out of direct sunlight and away from heat and ignition sources.” [2] §7.2.1. The data sheet prints no storage range, storage charge level or shelf life [1]. Check the voltage every few months.
As UN3480, lithium-ion batteries, Class 9, under the SDS [2] §14; AnTek’s UN38.3 report [3] covers the bare cell. A pack built from these cells needs its own UN38.3 testing.
13SOURCES
Where every number on this page comes from.